2016 WIBU ATHENA Nominees Announced

file photoFile photo

By: Angie Rogers-Howell—

Women in Business Unlimited (WIBU), an organization dedicated to providing networking opportunities for business women of East Central Indiana, is pleased to announce the Nominees for the 2016 ATHENA Awards. After closing public nominations on September 30th, WIBU received a total of twenty-three (23) candidates for the internationally recognized awards.

Nominations were solicited from the public. In order to remain impartial, the 23 nominations were forwarded to the judging panel for review. The judging panel is comprised of three to four individuals outside of Delaware County and have no strong ties to the Delaware County community. Each judge reviews and evaluates each nomination on its own merits and scores according to a provided matrix. The judges scores are tabulated and the nominee with the highest score is named as the recipient of the award.

Nominees will be honored and award recipients will be announced at the Catalyst for Empowering Women Symposium & Athena Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, November 16th, 2016 at the Horizon Convention Center in Muncie, IN. This event is open to the public and all are welcome to attend with reservations being made online.


ATHENA Professional Leadership Award

  • Melissa Bucur(nominated by Karen McTague)
  • Peggy Cenova(nominated by Judy Porter)
  • Tisha Gierhart(nominated by Mitch Isaacs)
  • Heidi Hale(nominated by Melanie Howe)
  • Jeannine Harrold(nominated by Tara Whitehead)
  • Liz Ludwick(nominated by McKensie Monroe)
  • Juli Metzger(nominated by Tammy Pearson)
  • Pam Price(nominated by Bonnie Krupa)

ATHENA Young Professional

  • Kyla Bartle(nominated by Kat Knox)
  • Olivia Fellows(nominated by Kristen Bitzegaio)
  • Niki Fitzgerald(nominated by Elizabeth Ludwick & Rebecca Parker/Amy Logan)
  • Melanie Howe(nominated by Pam Price)
  • McKensie Monroe(nominated by Rita Holloway & Gary Stamper)
  • Rebecca Parker(nominated by WaTasha Griffin)
  • Kayla Stanton(nominated by Molly Hunt)
  • Courtney Jarrett(nominated by Kaitlyn Davis)

ATHENA Organizational Leadership

  • Academy of Model Aeronautics(nominated by Barbi Paschal)
  • Community Business Connector Group(nominated by Kaitlyn Davis)
  • Hillcroft Services(nominated by Kristen Bitzegaio)
  • Second Harvest Food Bank(nominated by Melissa Bucur)
  • Shafer Leadership Academy(nominated by Mitch Isaacs)
  • Sticks & Leaves(nominated by Kristen Cooper)
  • YWCA of Muncie(nominated by Kim Campbell)

For more information on WIBU visit www.wibumuncie.org

For more information on the Catalyst for Empowering Women Symposium and the ATHENA awards luncheon visit www.wibumuncie.org/athena