Ivy Tech Community College East Central Region Will Graduate 1,166 Students at Commencement

Ivy Tech Commencement photo from 2015. Photo provided.Ivy Tech Commencement photo from 2015. Photo provided.

Muncie, Ind. – Ivy Tech Community College East Central region will see 1,166 students graduate at its 48th graduation ceremony at 7:00 p.m., Thursday, May 12 at Emens Auditorium in Muncie.

The Honorary Associate of Science in College and Community Service Degree will be awarded to Ms. Bobbette Snyder and Mr. James Warner. Snyder has been a tireless force in her hometown of Anderson, and also assists her husband, Tom, president of Ivy Tech Community College, with contributions to philanthropic organizations, and as a servant leader. She initiated the Youth Leadership Academy of Madison County, founded the Paramount Festival of Trees, and continues to assist others with VISION NOW, facilitating leadership development programs throughout the country.

Warner, and four other members of his gospel group, 27 years ago, began giving away turkeys to hungry people each November. Today, their act of kindness has grown into Anderson’s annual Geater Center Thanksgiving dinner, an initiative that served nearly 1,500 people in 2015. Warner still sings in a gospel group and for the past 41 years has spent his Sundays as a radio host on various local stations where he encourages his listeners to persevere, be great, and service others.

Vice Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Student Achievement winners are: Emily A. Bradford, School of Business; David J. Cox, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Amy D. Hassos, School of Technology; Jason A. Hockwalt, School of Health Sciences; Michele L. Smythe, School of Public and Social Services; Hannah F. Steele, School of Nursing; David D. Weisse, School of Computing and informatics; and Kristine A. Withem, School of Education.

Mr. Gary Grider will receive the President’s Award for Outstanding Faculty. Grider is the program chair for the Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) program. Besides empowering students with practical tools for success, Grider has mentored his students by involving them with Habitat for Humanity and Urban Light.

The 2015 Alumni Achievement Award will be awarded to Mr. Jeff Crabtree. Crabtree was named top student in his 1983 Ivy Tech class and demonstrates how an individual with high ideals, an enthusiastic work ethic, and the benefit of a degree, can help a person become a leader in the State of Indiana. After a career with General Motors, he now owns more than 900 acres in Delaware and Madison counties. He is a deacon at the St. Lawrence Catholic Church in Muncie and volunteers many hours preparing food and maintaining the kitchen at the Harvest Soup Kitchen.

Conferring of the certificates and degrees will be conducted by Ivy Tech Community College President, Thomas J. Snyder.  Presentation of the certificates and degrees will be conducted by Dr. Ronald Sloan, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, Alex Huskey, Marion Campus President, and Dr. James Willey, Anderson Campus President.

The School of Nursing pinning ceremony will be at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 12 at Emens Auditorium, Muncie, honoring 169 students.

Statewide, Ivy Tech Community College will award nearly 20,320 credentials across 14 different commencement ceremonies taking place from May 5 to May 14. In addition to earning credentials, Ivy Tech students have earned thousands of credits to transfer to four-year institutions throughout the state, saving those students more than $38 million dollars in tuition costs.


About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.