Yorktown, Burris and Cowan HS Students Receive Educator Scholarship

Indiana Statehouse photo provided by: Lydia KirschnerIndiana Statehouse photo provided by: Lydia Kirschner

By House Republicans Press Office—

STATEHOUSE  – Delaware County students preparing to become teachers are among this year’s recipients of the state’s Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to Delaware County lawmakers.

The scholarship program, established in 2016 through legislation supported by the Indiana General Assembly, awards $7,500 per year to 200 high-achieving students. Recipients must commit to teaching in Indiana for a minimum of five years after graduating college. Current high school seniors or college students are eligible to apply.

“These star students recognize that teaching is a worthwhile and rewarding profession,” said State Rep. J.D. Prescott (R-Union City). “I’d encourage any young Hoosier considering a career in education to follow in the footsteps of these students and apply for a Next Generation Hoosier Scholarship.”

More than 600 students applied, and these local students are among this year’s 200 scholarship recipients:

  • Analiese Pittman, Yorktown High School;
  • Emily Mcclure, Burris Laboratory School;
  • Ellie Lynn, Yorktown High School;
  • Emma Johnson, Cowan High School;
  • Kearston West; Cowan High School; and
  • Nathaniel Kirby, Cowan High School.

“Educators have always played a big part in the successes of students across Indiana,” said State Rep. Elizabeth Rowray (R-Yorktown). “This scholarship attracts the best candidates to help educate Hoosier youth and inspire the next generation.”

Those qualifying for the renewable scholarship totaling up to $30,000 must graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class, earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT or have a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

“It’s great to see our best and brightest not only succeed in high school, but then go on to pursue a fulfilling career in education,” said State Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion). “These scholarships can make a big difference in the lives of these students and I can’t wait to see where their journeys take them.”

To learn more and apply for the next round of scholarships opening in the fall, visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher. Questions may be directed to NextTeacher@che.in.gov.