Lilly Endowment Community Scholars Named

Zachary Stanley of Delta High School (left) and Thomas Wilhoite of Yorktown High School (right) are recipients of the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Photo providedZachary Stanley of Delta High School (left) and Thomas Wilhoite of Yorktown High School (right) are recipients of the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Photo provided

By: Kallie Sulanke—

Muncie, IN—The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, who will reach receive a four-year award that grants full tuition to any accredited public or private non-profit college or university in Indiana. The Lilly Scholarship also covers fees and provides an annual stipend for required books and equipment.

The recipients of the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship are Zachary Stanley of Delta High School and Thomas Wilhoite of Yorktown High School. They were chosen out of an applicant pool of 60 candidates from high schools across Delaware County.

“The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship in Delaware County is awarded to students who shine not only academically, but in their achievements, community service, and leadership,” said Kelly K. Shrock, President of The Community Foundation. “Zachary and Thomas have demonstrated that they are very deserving of being called a Lilly Scholar. This is a prestigious honor that these students will carry with them for the rest of their lives.”

Zachary Stanley, a senior at Delta High School, plans to study health sciences. He is the son of Jeffrey and Victoria Stanley. He is a three-sport athlete for Delta High School, where he plays football and serves as team captain for both the soccer team and track and field. Zachary is a member of the Chick Fil-A Leadership Academy, Freshman Mentors Program, and National Honor Society. In addition to volunteer activities related to clubs and athletics, he serves as a volunteer in his church’s youth ministry and has helped with election campaigning. To learn more about his desired career path, Zachary has served as an office intern in the Ball Memorial Hospital emergency room and in the Wound Healing Center.

Thomas Wilhoite, a senior at Yorktown High School, plans to study business. He is the son of Leland and Mary Wilhoite. Thomas has been an active member of DECA all four years of high school. This year, Thomas serves as the President of the Indiana DECA, leading more than 3,000 DECA members from across the state. Additionally, Thomas is a runner, participating on the track team and serving as captain of the cross-country team. He is involved in Riley Dance Marathon, four-year class president, a member of National Honor Society, and an active community volunteer.

In selecting Delaware County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, consideration is given to student activities and achievements, community and civic service, academic ability and potential for leadership.  After the field of school nominees was narrowed to two, the finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipients.

ICI is a non-profit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. The scholarships are a result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana;  to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. Since the program began in the late 90s, Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships valued at more than $450 million have been awarded to more than 4,750 students across Indiana.