Ivy Tech Community College to Offer Two New Associate Degrees

File photoFile photo

By: Kelsey Batten—

Indianapolis, IN – Ivy Tech Community College has received approval to offer the Associate of Science in Secondary Education with concentrations in Mathematics or Biology. Fifteen locations will begin offering the degree, starting in Fall 2018, including: Bloomington, Columbus, Evansville, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Lafayette, Lake County, Lawrenceburg, Muncie, Richmond, Sellersburg, South Bend/Elkhart, Terre Haute and Valparaiso.

“One of Ivy Tech’s primary goals is to offer programs that are aligned to workforce needs,” said Sue Ellspermann, president of Ivy Tech. “There is a growing shortage of high school STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) teachers, and as a result, we have worked closely with the Commission for Higher Education and Indiana’s public universities to develop programs in secondary math and biology education.  These programs will provide an affordable, high quality, seamless transfer opportunity for Ivy Tech students to continue at a four-year university to meet the growing need for high school STEM teachers.”

The Associate of Science in Secondary Education is the newest offering to the Transfer as a Junior program options. When enrolled in a Transfer as a Junior program, the student will earn their associate degree from Ivy Tech, then can transfer to any Indiana public four-year university with automatic junior status, upon meeting the receiving institution’s admissions requirements.

For more information, visit IvyTech.edu/secondary-education.

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College serves communities across Indiana, providing world-class education and driving economic transformation. It is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering high-value degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities, along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.