2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars Named

Kathryn Alexander, Delta High School (left), and Hazel Crow, Burris Laboratory School (right), were presented with Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships on Tuesday during private ceremonies at their respective schools.Kathryn Alexander, Delta High School (left), and Hazel Crow, Burris Laboratory School (right), were presented with Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships on Tuesday during private ceremonies at their respective schools.

By Kallie Sulanke—

MUNCIE, Ind. —The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County, Inc. is pleased to announce the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipients, Kathryn Alexander of Delta High School and Hazel Crow of Burris Laboratory School.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception. The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is administered statewide by Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) with local support from Indiana community foundations.

Alexander and Crow were selected out of an applicant pool of 66 candidates from high schools across Delaware County. Each high school selects one nominee to be a scholarship finalist.

“The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County looks at students with leadership potential, who are well-rounded and community-minded for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship,” said Kelly K. Shrock, president of The Community Foundation. “Kathryn Alexander and Hazel Crow are shining examples of students who made a difference in their school community as well as the larger community. They will carry the honor of being a Lilly Scholar with them for the rest of their lives.”

Kathryn Alexander, a senior at Delta High School, plans to study biological sciences. She is the daughter of Scott and Valerie Alexander. To help her reach her professional goal of becoming a veterinarian, Alexander has pursued an independent study opportunity under Dr. Rubenstein in the biology department at Ball State University. She is gaining practical experience and knowledge of working in a scientific environment. In addition to academic pursuits, Alexander is a two-sport athlete participating in cross country and tennis.  She is also involved in National Honor Society and Delaware County 4-H, serves as a Freshman Mentor, and is president of the Riley Dance Marathon Committee. Alexander has been an active community volunteer both for school organizations and, more broadly, in the community.

Hazel Crow, a senior at Burris Laboratory School, plans to study early childhood intervention. She is the daughter of Kate and Andrew Crow. Crow is an avid volunteer on stage and behind the scenes at Muncie Civic Theatre. She specifically shared her experience as a mentor during children’s shows, where she was able to help young people, not only with their costume, makeup, and microphone but also with their identity and confidence as an actor. In addition to her time spent both as a volunteer and in a paid role at Muncie Civic Theatre, Crow has participated in Shafer Leadership Academy, class council, High Street United Methodist Church Family Ministries Council and Youth Council, Burris Laboratory School Theatre Program, and Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Crow has also been active in community service projects through middle and high school and maintained high academic achievement.

In selecting Delaware County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, consideration is given to leadership potential, community and civic service, student activities and achievements, and academic ability. After the field of nominees was narrowed, finalists’ names were submitted to ICI for the selection of the recipients.

In addition to administering the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County manages more than 50 additional scholarship funds that provide scholarship awards to graduating seniors and current college students in Delaware County. Scholarship applications are currently open at DelawareCountyScholarships.com. The deadline to apply is March 1, 2022. Each scholarship has unique criteria, and awards are given for a variety of activities and for a wide range of grade point averages. All current high school seniors are invited to visit DelawareCountyScholarships.com to complete the universal application to determine for which specific scholarships they may apply. Questions may be directed first to high school counselors or emailed toscholarships@cfmdin.org.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.